Beaver Fever Friday – Elaina Christiansen – Softball

Bemidji State starts 2023 season at Kelly Laas Memorial Tournament

Beavers 2023 season gets under way in St. Could, Minn

The Bemidji State University Softball team starts its 2023 season at the Kelly Laas Memorial Tournament hosted by St. Cloud State University, Saturday Feb. 11 and Sunday. The Beavers will compete in four games during the tournament starting with the hosts St. Could State at 12:30 p.m., Saturday, followed by University of Minnesota, Duluth at 5:30 p.m. The following day BSU will face off with University of Mary at 12:30 p.m., and get its second look at the Bulldogs at 3 p.m.

The first game for the Beavers will be livestreamed and all games will have live stats, both can be found here.
Bemidji State Notes

Bemidji State was picked to finish 12th in the 2023 Preseason Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Coaches’ Poll.

Junior Stella Dolan was named Beavers’ Preseason Pitcher to Watch and sophomore Mariah Stevenson was named Preseason Player to Watch for the Beavers.

Bemidji State head coach Jordan Petersen begins her second season with the Beavers (11-39).

Bemidji State returns 13 student-athletes from the 2022 season where the Beavers went 11-39 and finished 12th in the NSIC with an 8-22 league record.

The Beavers have added six newcomers to the 2023 roster for a total of 19 student-athletes, two being transfer students in Natalie Contreras from Georgian Court and Abby Kessel from Mayville State.

Stevenson returns to the team after leading the Beavers with a .322 batting average and totaled a .466 slugging percentage and .385 on-base percentage in her freshman season.

Bemidji State returns two of its four members of its pitching staff from last season in Kyla Damerow and Dolan.

Dolan leads the returners with 152.1 innings pitched last season while Damerow follows with 56 innings pitched.

Bemidji State’s 2022 roster carries 11 upperclassmen and eight underclassmen. The Beavers will have four seniors in Damerow, Emmarie Yeager, Jennifer Smith and Ashley Herold and two fifth-year seniors in Elaina Christiansen and Kora Martin.