Beaver Fever Friday – Brice Peters – Football

No. 12/9 Beavers travel to Sioux Falls with NSIC Championship at stake against No. 20/14 Augustana

Beavers enter the week in a three-way tie for first in the NSIC standings

The final regular season game of the season will have a lot on the line when the No. 12/9 Bemidji State University Football team plays at No. 20/14 Augustana on Saturday at 1 p.m. at Kirkeby-Over Stadium in Sioux Falls. The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference game will help decide who will win at least a share of the NSIC title.

Bemidji State, Augustana and Minnesota State enter the final week of the regular season all tied for first in the NSIC standings at 8-1. The winner of the Bemidji State and Augustana game will secure at least a share of the NSIC crown. Minnesota State plays at Minnesota Duluth with a chance to also secure a share of the title. If the Mavericks fall at home against the Bulldogs, then the BSU/AU winner will be the outright NSIC Champion.

Bemidji State (8-1, 8-1 NSIC) has won four straight since the three-point loss to Minnesota State to end September. The Beavers started the run with a win at Wayne State, then after dominating Concordia-St. Paul, BSU went on the road for the seven-point win at Minnesota Duluth before defeating MSU Moorhead by 13 at home last week. The Dragons held the 7-0 lead after the first quarter and the game was tied at 7-7 at the half. With the game still tied at 14, BSU scored the final 13 points to claim the 21-14 victory.

The Beavers passed for 320 yards and rushed for 74. They limited MSU Moorhead to just one net yard rushing, collected six sacks and forced three turnovers. Brandon Alt completed 28-41 for 320 yards and two touchdowns. Sage Booker rushed for 47 yards, with Jayden Washington adding 41. Brice Peters caught five passes for 95 yards and two touchdowns. Jake Hill had nine for 75 yards and Dhel Duncan-Busby added five for 63 yards. Mike Wandmaker had just two catches, but both were big as he had 52 yards.

Spencer Wehr, the reigning NSIC Defensive Player of the Year, had nine tackles, six solo, along with a tackle for loss and an interception. Max Buduris had eight tackles, six solo, and two pass breakups. Marcus Hansen had 2.5 sacks and a forced fumble. Marco Cavallaro added 1.5 sacks. Cade Barrett and Stephen Hoffman each had a sack. Theodus Ringgold added an interception.